Hello Martha.

I am Martha and Martha is me, but who is she?

I’m not talking about Martha Stewart but the one from the Bible that had a sis named Mary. Okay, so to give you some insight on this lady I’ll share this quick story:

Martha invited Jesus into her home and while she was distracted with her responsibilities, her sis,Mary, stayed with Jesus listening to his teaching. Martha was like,” ummm HELLO?! Jesus you see I’m doing all this work and my sister not helping me! Tell her to help me.” Jesus said, “you’re concerned about soo many things but your sister chose the right thing to focus on.”

OUCH! I felt convicted when I read this story because I can be like Martha sometimes. On the enneagram, I’m a 7 (that’s a blogpost for another time) . An enthusiast, seeks adventure, and doesn’t like to be bored describes some parts of me. That being said I can get distracted with my thoughts/ideas and whatever I’m currently working on.

Can I get an Amen from the back 🙋🏾‍♀️?! I mean I can seriously be like a squirrel sometimes lol. Just like Martha, annoyed and distracted with things I would like to accomplish , I go to God asking for help and He says, “Rest”.

So what do I do when I start to feel like Martha?

  • Spend time reading the Word
  • Journal my thoughts
  • Give my concerns to Him
  • Reflect by walking in the park
  • Pray

After doing this is when I get clearer in my goals and actually have direction on how I should prioritize my tasks.

Leave a comment