Adjusting to higher altitudes 

I don’t have a fear of heights, its just adjusting to higher altitudes. Being on airplanes are fun until my ears start popping and  hearing shifts temporarily . It’s worth being uncomfortable in those few minutes because I’m usually excited for the destination.

IMG_1284 I wonder where does the fear of heights come from? Is it the fear of falling ? Or maybe being on a higher level compared to staying on ground , where it’s comfortable?  A few weeks ago I went on a ropes course at WonderWorks. I thought it wasn’t high, I mean I’m a roller coaster girl! However , once I walked up the steps and made my way at the top I was afraid! It seemed like everyone was breezing through the course except me . I had a harness for support but when I would look down and see people looking /walking pass, my fear started to form into the question “what if I fall on them?” Also, in every direction the ropes had a different design meaning I couldn’t go through each obstacle the same way.  It took a lot for me to get through the ropes course but I managed to get through lol.

Faith is the same way. God is like “I got you” just like the harness  had me . Instead of walking through what looks impossible we get distracted and what God was trying to teach for a moment ends up being a journey instead.

Another activity I did was indoor skydiving! It was fun but of course knowing me there was a process smh. I had braids (lots of them) which made it uncomfortable to wear their helmets. Eventually, they gave me a different style helmet to fit some of my braids , awkward. The cool thing about this activity was we received brief instructions and then the moment to ‘just do it’. No time to second guess and question, just do it.

My first leap into the air tunnel was a mess. I couldn’t think of the correct form my body needed to stay in so it felt like I was flying all over lol . The instructor kept telling me to relax and I thought I was but I guess he saw differently. I leaped again into the air but this time it was different. I remembered what the instructor taught me and then I begin to relax by clearing my head, going with the flow.  My husband even said there were a few times the instructor let me go to fly by myself!

How long did you have an idea and the Lord said “Just do it!” ? Maybe he gave clear instructions and you felt you needed time to process what he was saying. I had an idea on something and it seemed like I was taking forever just “researching “. I finally started putting my plans into action and let me tell you the first time was a mess. However, I’m learning God is with me and all I need to do is relax and go with the flow. Now it’s your turn..

DSCF0753

Leave a Reply

