Be Our Guest

beauty-beast-2017-lumiere-ewan-mcgregor

Wedding season is here! Well, actually weddings are happening all the time so is there really a season? Anyhoo, my husband and I are approaching our 1st year of marriage (WhoooHOOO!!) and I thought it would be great to reflect on our growth from the wedding planning to becoming the Mrs. Randomly the first thing that popped in my mind was the guest list.

I thought this was going to be a piece of cake and for most brides I guess it is; however , being a ‘nice’ person this was hard. Our families lived in separate states so we chose our wedding in the state we live in, which is where my husband family lives. Then there was the list.  A lot of people wanted to come when they first heard about our wedding and I started feeling overwhelmed.

I wanted to invite everyone but the money was limited so what was I supposed to do? I went online and searched for a smart way to tackle the list. I drew 4 columns for an A-list, B-list, C-list, D-list. The A-list included immediate family, people we couldn’t imagine getting married without. The B-list included our aunts & uncles , cousins , best friends. The C-list included co-workers and the D-list were people we didn’t talk to in a while, etc. We already had a number set that we could invite so after creating the list it became easier to mark out names. We sent out invitations mostly to the ones that were likely to attend and sent an invitation to church to make an announcement so people could send gifts. I kept track of who was/wasn’t attending using TheKnot guests template. The beginning was stressful but after having a plan the process became easier.

So if you’re in the middle of planning for your big day and the guest list has you overwhelmed , simply create lists of those close to ones you don’t talk to and narrow it down one step at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

