The Power of Saying “NO!”

IMG_1144

If every answer to a question was a ‘yes’ I wonder what would life be like? Even though there’s  glamour in saying yes , there’s definitely power in a no.  ‘No’ will direct you on the right path.  I can’t tell you how many times I was rejected in my relationship quests when I was younger but let’s just say I was persistent, lol. The same determination I had stuck with me when I started applying for jobs (100 applications & 20 interviews later.. ) . The experiences were frustrating yet it somehow gave me fuel to keep pushing myself to the point I had to stop and evaluate what was going on.  Chasing guys did not look pretty so when I finally gained a better understanding of who God created me to be that’s when I became friends with my now husband. After applying to a million jobs and receiving no’s , it directed me on the path I’m on now.

‘No’ is good for your well-being. Making promises to everyone can be stressful and overwhelming. When you finally accept the fact that you can’t please everyone it feels like a sigh of relief. Creating the guest list for my wedding was very stressful at first. I had so many people in mind I pictured at the wedding but it was conflicting with the actual cost. I looked up a great method on how to handle the guest list and it relieved my stress tremendously!

‘No’ helps you think clearer . Honestly , saying no right away is not my first response. There’s so much power in our words but to mentally process what we’re asked first is power all on its on. How many times did we agree to something without thinking through the question first? When I submitted my DAT (Dental Admission Test) scores , the schools sent me emails immediately after. They knew my character but wanted me to push more academically. The schools said ‘no, not now’ ,which was great because it allowed me think clearer on what I wanted .

To hear the word ‘no’ can bring so much emotions , good and bad, depending on how you receive it.  I think God created that word with us in mind. He wants to protect us, keep us in perfect health, and mature our thinking . So the next time you’re rejected be joyful because something great is on your way!

 

Leave a Reply

