Where’s your outlet?

plugIn general ,the electrical outlet is used to connect an electrical device to an electricity supply. Just about everything we use requires an outlet : cellphones , computers, TV, etc., etc. Your cellphone is charged and ready to be used for a couple of hours then it has to let you know it needs energy. The same is applied in our everyday lives. Energy is drained constantly from work, relationships , or  just going through the day in general  and that’s when we ask , ” Where’s my outlet?”

Growing up I loved being to myself ( still do !) , I had friends but it was something about my ‘me time’ . I had a lot of moments where I didn’t feel pretty enough and got picked on . Besides crying to my mom and friends I needed a place to vent that’s how my outlet to write started. I used my imagination a lot and it introduced me to poetry. As I wrote my poems helped me to clear my emotions and become creative. I guess it even compliments to my blog today :-).  My next outlet I love to have is music. Music for me takes me to another place and I use it a lot at work lol ! Pandora , my best friend, helps me get into a productive mood and it seems to help me move faster depending on the song. Another outlet that gets me into a better mood , Instagram. I follow a bunch of Ig’s comedians and I just watch their short clips when I feel like laughing . Playing tennis is my favorite outlet after a long week of work . After a few hits back and forth it not only clears your mind but it’s a fun way of working out ! Last but not least , the outlet I use everyday is spending time with God. I have to speak to him before I start work and later during the day . He gives so much of himself I feel charged and ready for whatever the day is bringing. Besides speaking to him , I like to study scriptures and read devotionals . While I feel I may be giving 40% , like a cell phone battery, he in turns gives so much more .

So your outlet(s) can be a number of things , just make sure you stay connected to your source of energy!

Leave a Reply

