A Fresh Start

I love the drive people have at the beginning of the year on social media pages. Goals of staying healthy, building financially , and staying focused are the popular topics as I scroll down the pages. As for me I learned a lot in 2016 and through my experiences it helped to mentally prepare for 2017 journey. I hope this can help you as well , enjoy 🙂 !!

Stay on the path God equipped for you

A lot of us have goals for this year but may not have the best plan to achieve them . As a result it may seem easier to imitate others .. what I’m learning as I discover my purpose in life is that God equipped us with different skills for our journey . So its ok if you have a nail and I have a hammer , our purpose is still to build even though we don’t have the same tools! The cool thing is he’s in charge of your map and can guide you when you ask for direction.

The go-to people

Being quiet actually is a good quality to have especially when choosing your team of success. Just think if someone wanted to meet you but had to meet your friends first , you would/should want friends that not only reflect but compliment your character. People of excellence is what everyone should want in their corner.  They advise from their level of ‘expertise’ ( financial, spiritual, relationship, etc). People I may know through dentistry may be limited to ‘academic advising’ , my pastor is my ‘spiritual advisor’, and the list continues.  Having these people in designated areas of your life limits opinions and provides a strong foundation as you build . Remember plans succeed with many advisors.

Staying consistent

I had a schedule that consisted of  spending time with God,  working , eating, working out, watching tv, and going to sleep Monday – Friday. I complained how I didn’t have time to  work on my goals for a while especially last year! Oh, the woes of my inconsistency ! I waited and waited for an opportunity where I could find time to work on my craft and instead a year flies by lol  :-/ . Work  on your craft after work everyday is what I’m now telling myself. Every minute is a result of the decision you made to either be productive or to procrastinate. I used to wait to workout in the gym on Saturdays because I didn’t have time to go during the week now its everyday at home/gym. Want more money? Well I’m learning after you tithe , pay yourself . It may not seem like much but it will start to accumulate . I also learned consistency was the key for applying for jobs. I applied for a lot and noticed job sites posting at certain times . The only way for me to see a trend was to go through the process of applying and rejection.  Staying consistent is not easy , well not for me , I need motivation .  I like to have an award system for myself . Say I studied and retained the information for the week , well that Saturday I may treat myself for the movies. Same as working out , when I consistently work out and eat healthy during the week that Saturday I may have a cheat day.

I hope what I learned in 2016 will help us both as we take over 2017, Happy new year!!

Leave a Reply

