My 1st lyft experience

I’m not sure what numbed my nerves and gave me confidence to become a lyft driver especially being an introvert! I just remembered being anxious from not working and YouTube videos of Uber/Lyft sounding cool and I was up for the challenge. So I applied,  submitted my information , and a few days later I met with a mentor so they could give me a heads up on things and evaluate my car.

A couple of days flew by ..maybe a week or two and I finally got the notification of being approved to drive, yayyy! Full of excitement and readiness to chauffeur the world , I switched my lyft app to ‘online’ to let people know I was available. I then decided to look at YouTube videos of the do’s and dont’s with lyft . Within 20-30 mins. of being ‘available’ I received a pickup request!  All of my excitement went away and reality reminded me of the fact ” you do know you just made yourself available to pick up strangers in your car, right?” I immediately switched my availability off …for like a month lol .

I know , why go through the emotions ? Well , I liked challenging myself to converse with people and it was a different kind of experience . So one Saturday I finally decided to move forward with the process. I picked up two ladies that were on their way to a college football game. On the way there they mostly talked amongst themselves which was great for me because I didn’t know what to talk about and I wasn’t a big sports fan. The last few minutes we spoke about marriage and the ‘stress tooth ‘ ball I have in my car that reminds me to stay focused on dentistry. Very random but smooth first lyft ride! I recommend for all my brave introverts :-)!

 

Leave a Reply

