Why dentistry?

thGLJZ5YMZ

“Why do you want to become a dentist?” Honestly, when I struggled academically in college , being nervous speaking in front of people, and other obstacles I ask myself the same thing. As I tried to research other careers I found that it was a waste of time because my passion was in dentistry.  Being in a single parent home where finances were limited,  going to the dentist wasn’t a priority  nor were we educated on how important it was to maintain healthy teeth and gums. I had a lot of insecurities growing up and it eventually affected the way I smiled. I was able to get braces for a short period but due to finances I had to get them off sooner than expected.   One day my mom and I went to a big dental clinic where hundreds of us stood in line waiting to be examined by health professionals including dentists. Hours later , they announced “NO MORE PATIENTS!” This was because there wasn’t enough dentists. After those experiences , it motivated me to learn more about dentistry and how I can make a difference. As I continue to volunteer and gain insight in the dental arena , I learn there are hundreds of people like me. By God’s will , my desire is to educate people on the importance of having a healthy mouth and how it affects their overall health. Also , to help build one’s confidence by improving their smile . This won’t be easy but I’m determined to help someone through my journey .

thALBRJPYY

2 thoughts on “Why dentistry?

  1. prettypinkandasprinkleofglitz says:

    You’re blog is absolutely ADORABLE! I love the pink and all of the toothy images! 🙂 I think it’s incredible that you are pursing your passion and following God’s will for your life. No doubt you’ll make an incredible impact on those around you! Thank you so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

